Breaking the Habit(s)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/daily-prompt-broken/

Honestly? I can’t think of too many,

Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way shape or form perfect.  What I am saying however, is that I wouldn’t consider myself to have any of the ‘classically’ destructive habits which can dog certain people.  I have never used any recreational drugs (except alcohol of course), I don’t consider myself to be an alcoholic, I am able to go comfortably without a drink for a considerable amount of time.  I don’t have any issues with sex addiction etc.  

However, one habit I would dearly love to break is my habit of nervousness, of saying no, of intertia.  This comes about particularly as I’m currently floating about the job market, there have been several opportunities I didn’t go for which I wish I had.  Even back in the University days, I do have a list of regrets, jobs I didn’t apply for, society committee positions I wish I had gone for, even societies I wish I had joined.   I’ve always been a man who has perhaps been guilty of nerves and no self-confidence.  I wish I could break the habit of nerves hanging over me and just go for it more often, fear of failure is something which I must try and override in order to progress.  My problem is I take criticism and failure too much to heart.  I see it as almost a personal attack rather than the way it should be taken, as a lesson for the future.  If I don’t fail at anything, then evidently I have never tried anything.  If I can break the nerves which have a grip over me and promote my own ideas, I feel that it will be such a positive on my life.  

8 thoughts on “Breaking the Habit(s)

  1. Pingback: The 3 stages | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Habit breaking | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Breakdown: Broken Down | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: BECOMING | hastywords

Leave a Reply

